December 10

Chapter 12- It’s OK to Be Not-OK

Everyone comes with baggage of one sort or another and that is absolutely ok. In our society, however, we are made to hide our feelings and pretend that everything is perfect, unless we are grieving over the loss of a loved one-and even at that we are expected to get over it quickly and move on. In reality though, not everything is perfect all the time. I think of my Mom and the sudden loss of her second husband, my step-father. It has been six years and the pain is still there, lingering underneath the surface. Some days are wonderful, spent enjoying life, while other days she just wants to hide under the blankets and hope that when she wakes up she finds that the past 6 years were all a dream and Duncan is still with us. And my sister and I just need to remember that it is ok for her to be like this. It is ok to be not-ok. Her pain is as real today as it was on September 30th of 2011 when we were informed of his sudden passing. The only difference is that the pain has lessened through time and I am sure that it will continue to do so. As her daughter I need to be there to support her thought that pain.

Our students require that same support and understanding. We need to realize that, every day wen they step through the doors of the school, they might not be ok, and that is ok. They will need our love, care and attention more that day to help support the through their difficult time and that’s ok too. They might not be ready to learn everything we have to offer them at that time, and that is also ok. However, we must strive to support them through their difficult days so that they do not remain entrenched in their feelings. We need to help them learn to balance life and life’s troubles so that they can continue to move forward.

In order to continue to move forward, it is crucial for us to have a “person.” Someone who is there for us in our time of need, to help support us through the difficult times and to encourage us to move forward. For some, this might be a family member, for others, it is a close friend and others still it might be someone they just met, but the need for that “person” is there. For my Mom, I believe it is me. Her and I have spent countless hours on the phone and on Facetime, talking about life, what is new, what is going on in our worlds, encouraging each other to move forward through the hard times. She also has my sister, who lives in the same city, who makes her join different classes like crocheting class and quilting class. They even do paint nights and other small activities together. For me, my friend Jamie is my person. She helps me through my dark days, takes me out and reminds me that I am special and important to many people. Without these “safe people” I am sure that many people feel alone and possibly end up with mental health struggles like depression and suicidal thoughts and actions.

 

Who are the “safe people” in your lives? What has made them safe? How do they support you in times of need?

 

Are you a “safe person” for any of your students? How do you support them in their times of need? How do you know that you are their “person?”


Posted December 10, 2017 by tiebcmembers in category Fostering Resilient Learners

2 thoughts on “Chapter 12- It’s OK to Be Not-OK

  1. Maureen

    Since my separation in October, I have realaized that I have safe people and I had support in places I didn’t expect. I have 2 teacher friends, one I met last year and the other just this September. One I have been able to connect with on both a personal and professional level and the other is becoming more of a spiritual guide. I believe she is the one that makes me truly believe in myself (I am good enough) and tells me it’s okay not to be okay. The best part of this friendship is that we laugh about everything and anything. Before Christmas I let them both know how important they are in my life and that made me feel even closer to them.
    I have taken great care with students who come to visit me in my space. I listen and don’t judge and try to move their thinking forward. I hope that I am a safe person for them. I believe the hugs that I get from certain students tell me I’m their safe person.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      I too have a safe friend at work, without whom I am not sure I would make it through a lot of my situations. She has been my rock and I hope that I have been the same for her. I do know that we have a special connection as when my family and I have looked into moving away, she was the first to tell me we needed to do what was best for our family, but in her selfishness she did not want us to leave. Gives you the feels for sure!

      As for the kids, there are a few students, who even after no longer working with them, still come for hugs. We talk about everything, from school to home to extra-curricular activities. I know that I have made a connection with these students and I hope that I am able to connect with a majority of my students, if not all!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*