January 22

Chapters 3 and 4

Chapter 3- Differentiated, Responsive Classrooms and Growth Mindset

This is an excellent chapter on how to differentiate in the classroom. It is complete with a quick guide as to how to differentiate, as well as including ideas on how to assess learning to guide teaching.

As a new classroom teacher (I am usually a full time Learning Assistance/ Resource Teacher, but this year I have been teaching .5 in a Grade 5 classroom as well as .5 LART), this chapter has been an excellent support. It goes right along with the Redesigned Curriculum. I have been working very hard to create a differentiated classroom. I feel that this is an ongoing difficulty for me, one that I am going to continue to struggle through as I am sure it will only get easier. I feel that I am doing well with the pre-assessment, getting an understanding of what the students already know about a topic. I feel that I am also getting better with the formative assessments, ensuring that I include exit slips, 3-2-1s and lots of oral questioning at the end of the lessons. It is the flexible groupings, advancement and enrichment that I am struggling with including. I feel like I am more of a lecturer or at least a full group lesson.

1. How does a teacher’s mindset about a student’s learning ability directly connect to the responsiveness and effectiveness of instruction?

2. How do you find differentiating your classrooms? Which practices are you currently using? Which ones are hit and miss?

3. Do you have any tips or tricks you can share for “Differentiation Newbies” to make differentiation more manageable?

Chapter 4- Why is Critical Thinking Important in a Growth Mindset Classroom?

According to Chapter 4, there are three different types of critical thinking: reasoning, making judgments/decisions and problem solving. We need to make sure that students have opportunities to practice all of these areas on a daily basis. The Redesigned Curriculum supports this through project-based learning.

One way that I am including critical thinking into my students’ programming is through the use of STEM projects. It is incredible to see the growth of their critical thinking skills over the course of the year. Unfortunately, this is really the only time I have been including the aspect of critical thinking. During the second half of the year, I hope to include more project-based learning than I have thus far. Since we have been working on perimeter and area, I plan to have the Grade 5s work on a project that I found on Pinterest- creating a Taco Food Truck, fully equipped with a menu, food and, of course, the truck (or at least a scale model of the truck).

1. Based on the ideas from this chapter, why do you believe that critical thinking is important to a growth mindset classroom?

2. How have you incorporated (or plan to incorporate) critical thinking activities into your classrooms? 

3. Compare and contrast your definition of critical thinking with the one presented in the book on pages 55-56.

 

Next week we will take a look at Chapters 5 and 6.

 


Posted January 22, 2017 by tiebcmembers in category Mindsets in the Classroom

26 thoughts on “Chapters 3 and 4

  1. Nicky

    Chapter 3/4- I think agree with Ricci when she states on p. 31 “if an educator views a child through a deficit lens, then that child will not be given opportunities.” Students strive to the standards/expectations what we set out for them- so if we think that they can do something then they won’t rise above and do it. I think that far too often students are viewed as not being able to accomplish something and thus, aren’t given the opportunities that the other students are. Students won’t ever move or grow if the opportunity is never given to them- and therefore, they will have a fixed mindset rather than a growth one because they have never been able to practice skills to develop a growth mindset.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      This is very true of the struggling students. If people, especially their teachers, believe in them and give them opportunities to learn and be successful then developing a growth mindset would be much easier for them to achieve. Every student deserves the opportunity to grow and learn. Thanks for the insight Nicky!

      Reply
    2. Carla Lowther

      I have to agree completely with Nicky. And sadly, over my 17 years teaching in BC, I have heard many teachers say comments to the effect that kids with designations “will never meet the standards”. What standards?? Are they going to get an A++ without even trying like some child gifted in a particular area might? No. But they does not mean they cannot learn and be successful. Teachers with attitudes like this though pretty much set thew coded kids up for failure in my opinion.

      Carla

      Reply
  2. Rhonda

    I also went from being in a supportive role (our district calls it SBRT) to teaching a whole class (grade 2/3). Part of the SBRT job that I love is having the small groups. With this mind, I wanted to be able to teach my whole class in small groups. I use an adapted version of the Daily 5 and Math Daily 3 model to reinforce to my students about building stamina when independently completing activities. Each child has a literacy (magazine holder) box with books they can read, books they enjoy, a dictionary, and their writing projects and word study activities. Each child also has a number (pencil box) box, that at this time of the year includes counting materials, a hundred and/or thousands chart, Power of Ten cards, dice and a marker. We practiced reading/writing/doing math/word work for longer and longer periods of time and recorded our success on charts so that students could see that the length of time increased. Once most students can sustain themselves for longer than 15 minutes, I can start to pull students for small group work. I find when differentiating, I am usually successful with the pre-assessment and flexible groupings. What I find challenging is the time constraints/pressure to teach the next concept (even when some are not ready). I would also like to learn more about curriculum compacting to assist with activities for enrichment or acceleration.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      Thank you for sharing Rhonda! I love that you recorded your stamina times to show growth and success! What a wonderful way for the students to see how they have grown and progressed. I will definitely use this idea if I am in the classroom again in the future. Those (curriculum compacting, enrichment and acceleration) are the areas I have the most difficulty with as well. If you come up with any ideas to help, please do pass them on! I will do the same 🙂

      Reply
    2. Carla Lowther

      This is the one thing I really miss about elementary school: having the same group for an extended period of time (i.e >50 mins) so the teacher can do things like The Daily 5 and Math Daily 3. I am an LAT Gr. 10-12 and our classes run from 50-70 mins depending on the school and day. I am doing Words Their Way for a Bridging 10 English and a Comm 11 class. The maturity level makes such a difference in being able to do these things. But they are so useful for ALL students, but esp those who are struggling in spelling. I am jealous of what you can do, Rhonda, with your Gr. 2/3’s.

      Reply
  3. Carla Lowther

    Hi again. Hope everyone else is enjoying warm weather like we are in the North.

    I really like Ricci’s description of pre-assessment. We had Shelley Moore at our school in Nov and it was amazing. I had seen her twice before, as had our other LAT, but other teachers had not. Watching them learn from her was very intriguing. I would love to see more preassessment used in our school, but our teachers seem to feel they do not have time for it. They just start wherever the textbook they are using starts and go from there. At the other school I work at it is the same: “Well, if they completed Grades K-9 then they should already know this. I shouldn’t have to and I don’t have time to go back and teach it again.” And I get that. But our problem is that so many students – not just special needs kids – DON’T have all the knowledge they are expected to one they hit high school. And the range of abilities, esp in Math classes, can be astronomical. There is no way teachers could start at the lowest person’s abilities on the pre-assessment level and still cover all the learning outcomes in a Gr. 10-12 course. What is the answer?? No clue. I know it was not one of the questions, but I loved Ricci’s explanations of summative and formative assessment. I really needed a reminder on those.
    Our school (ELC) is a project-based learning school. Our students do 5 or 6 projects a year. One is individual, the others are in groups. The critical thinking that develops over the year is amazing. Today and yesterday, our students were presenting Mid-Year Celebrations of Learning (MCOLs). They had to explain what they have learned thus far this year and where they are going in the next 5 months. Critical thinking was very evident in over 70% of the 180 presentations. And I know more will be evident in the end year presentations. Growth mindset was spoken about in many presentations. Many kids indicated where they had growth and where they had fixed mindsets. It felt so good to know I am not the only one who feels this way.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      It is wonderful to hear that the students are recognizing growth and fixed mindsets! Having this knowledge is huge as they move from high school to the working world.

      As for your question on pre-assessment, one of the things I have been trying is to just ask the kids to write down all they know about a certain topic. For example, in math we have been learning about area and perimeter. This way, I was able to see if they knew the equations or even the difference between these two types of measurements. It was so very interesting and informative. I don’t think that the teachers need to assess everything the students have learned since grade 1, but it is important to know what they do know, even if that knowledge is very limited. A teacher must be able to provide the supports necessary to support every learner, which is very difficult, I know, but that is a huge part of our job. They would be doing a serious disservice to the students by not supporting them in a way in which best allows them to learn. Pre-assessment is definitely not easy, but it does give a good idea of what the students bring to the table.

      Reply
  4. Robin Coogan-Penner

    I think a teacher’s mindset towards a child’s abilities is critical. I have been very sensitive lately about mindsets and about showing students that I believe in them and think that they can do it. When they start with the negative self talk, I turn it around and show them that I think they can do it, that I believe in them. Hopefully, they start to think that too.

    For the language arts, I find that differentiating is easier, adjust how much they write, read, text choices, etc. I have been finding differentiating with math especially difficult and I am also doing a book study and online course with other teachers in my district on Mathematical Mindsets. That has really helped me to move away from conventional methods of assessment and looking at different activities, such as low floor, high ceiling. She has some great open ended maths ideas at youcubed.org I notice a change with my teaching and with getting the kids to think differently about math, focusing on the critical thinking aspect of solving problems.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      I have been interested in the Mathematical Mindsets book as well. I think, based on your comment, that you would recommend this book?

      Reply
  5. Gail

    The more I read and understand about growth mindset, the more I strive to give students the opportunities they need for growth, with the correct amount of support required for success, but without limitations. It is very exciting to think of the neurons that are growing and strengthening in all of our brains. It does make me wonder about children with learning disabilities. Learning disabilities, by definition, are life long. We teach children compensatory strategies, provide accommodations and give specific skill instruction. We expect those students to learn, given the right materials, but we don’t expect them to build their brain so they no longer have a learning disability. I understand that some differences in brains cannot be repaired. But Learning Disabilities is a grey enough area to me, that I sometimes wonder if one or two assessments, is really enough to come to a conclusion that the child has a life long disability. Either way, I feel that if the student, their parents and their teachers all have growth mindsets, that those students would be better able to succeed. I have seen motivation and perseverance lead to growth that nobody expected, and I think that is what we are talking about.
    Our school is currently working on making critical thinking more visible so that the students will be able to self-reflect on critical thinking as mandated in the new curriculum. This has led to some team meetings and discussions on how to Notice, Name, and Nurture critical thinking. Children are using critical thinking in the classrooms daily so teachers do not have to create new lessons on this skill. They just need to point it out and nurture it. So all our primary teachers are making posters based in the language in the new curriculum such as analyze, investigate, question etc. The posters are reminders to ourselves, as well as the students about all the different types of critical thinking they are doing so we can recognize when it is happening.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      The area of Learning Disabilities, Mild, Moderate and Profound Intellectual Disabilities all seem to fit into this grey area. Although I believe that these students are able to grow in any are in which they put effort and preserve. Their growth will not be the same as, say my growth, but they will be able to make new pathways in their brains as well. I am definitely not an expert on the brain and creating pathways, but there are people who beat the odds in many different ways. For example, those people who are told they will never walk again after a severe accident, but they surpass everyone’s expectations and not only do they learn to walk again, they run marathons. I think it would be unfair of us to assume that a child with a learning disability will not be able to create new pathways. We need to believe that they are capable of this, just like any other student.

      Reply
  6. Marian

    I enjoyed the chapter on differentiation, and I believe that I can help the classroom teachers build a growth mindset through my support of them. Two weeks ago I was asked by our grade 2 teachers what these 3 strugglers in their class should be working on during math. In that I had spent no time with these kiddos I was very surprised, and even a little frustrated by the question. However, I offered to do an basic numeracy assessment on them. The assessment identified that both boys struggled with subitizing and partitioning, and so I provided some activities to support them in those areas. On Friday the classroom teacher acknowledged that in the past she would have just pushed those boys on. During our chat I mentioned that by allowing the boys to dig in and really understand these areas she was laying the ground work for deeper understanding later. This groundwork may ultimately help them to catch up to their peers. She got it, and she was no longer teaching the curriculum, but had instead started to teach the children and to focus on where they specifically needed to improve. It was also an opening to discuss formative assessments so she could avoid being at a loss concerning her student’s needs in the future. I was very encouraged by this interaction

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      What a wonderfully, uplifting story! What do you use for a numeracy assessment? We do not have anything formal for math other than the K-1 Numeracy assessment and the DMA. I would love to see what you use, as it would probably help out at our school 🙂

      Reply
      1. Corinne

        I worked as a teacher of, then an LST for a differentiated math program that could be a text book example of what this chapter described. It was profound to see the students be able to accurately use a pre-assessment tool and talk about their own math learning. Students were engaged because they were all learning. They understood the difference between getting a concept, and truly being able to apply a concept and then the even deeper knowledge to be able to EXPLAIN a concept. they were able to discuss how they learned best (video examples, peer tutoring, curriculum ladder examples, or illustrated math thinking) and many in the “LST grouping” retained their basic understandings that carried over to the next year… there for LST was no longer a “life sentence”. the groups for pullout remained fluid for those who needed help in their “learning” not necessarily for those low in ability. it was a tough transition fro students coming in mid year and again for moving onto the next grade when math was taught in a more traditional classroom.

        Reply
  7. Brandi

    I have had the opportunity to work in both elementary, and secondary schools. Through the Support lens, I feel that a growth mindset has an absolute direct connection to not only the responsiveness, but also the effectiveness of instruction. Years ago, I had many of my students in my Support program that were part of the mainstream classes with EA support. After meeting teachers, I actually had a teacher tell me that adapting one of my students program was ‘too much work, and not his job.’ I was shocked by this comment, but I knew that this fixed mindset would not help my student in this teacher’s class, or others that had the same mindset. I had to show that providing adaptations for students with IEP’s was in fact his job. I took the time to share with staff different ways that they could differentiate their instruction. Every child deserves to learn in their own way. Over the years, there have been lots of hits, and lots of misses with differentiation! Project based learning and critical thinking: self reflection have been key points with our students growth this year. By providing critical thinking opportunities to students through self-reflection, we support our students with their growth mindset. We had the privilege of having Jodee Sayle, Teacher Consultant: Provincial Outreach Program Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder mentoring teachers at our school since last September with education strategies for children with fetal alcohol spectrum disorders, and supporting differentiated instruction. If you have the opportunity to attend her workshop at the Cross Currents conference this year, I would highly recommend it. Her passion for education is inspiring! 🙂

    Reply
  8. Melanie Miki

    Implementing preassessments, summative assessments, differientiated learning, and anchor activities although seemingly overwhelming for some teachers would certainly make learning more engaging. My older son disengaged in public school french immersion in primary and left in grade ten to complete his education through distributed learning. His discovery of IDS (Independent study courses for credit) enabled him to channel his energy through self initiated projects of which he wrote proposals for. The projects would end by him delivering presentations on topics such as redesigning education through project based learning, the cycling initiatives plan for Surrey etc. Perhaps if the above mentionned learning tools had been fully implemented then he may have stayed to graduate with his peers. Currently he is in grad school at UBC completing his Masters in Urban Planning. My younger son also came through french immersion and this year in grade ten has opted out. He too was disengaged in elementary and was frustrated with lessons that did not address his needs. For him it has been his peers and the opportunities in classes for acting and public speaking that have kept him relatively engaged. Although it may take time to initially implement the learning tools it seems that if students are engaged in meaningful learning then there would be fewer behavioural problems and more meaningful inquiry.:)

    Reply
  9. Corinne

    Ch 3/4
    I have been a classroom teacher, support (ESL and LST) and a prep teacher and the one thing that I see as paramount to student success is that the culture of the classroom leads itself to learning… all learners can and do learn. Regardless of content mastery, all students need to understand that a classroom is a place to honour learning. Preassessments/ differentiation both front end and back end is part of the deal and I have always made it a transparent process. The term Responsive classroom is new to me… but completely encompasses my views of education and learning. Preassessment is definately a big part of the process, but only if the students are aware of the purpose for/ and what the results mea for them individually. The 5-10 minute warm up is great advice and a for management? I have found that students setting work time goals.. in writing… then allowing time for reflection helps them be accountable for their learning and their own management.
    the recognition in Chapter 4 that kids who struggle often get left out of critical thinking strategy instruction but require this skill the most resonates greatly with me. My own child fits into this category and to watch him fight to have himself understood is a lesson in critical thinking. Many of our struggling learners NEED to be able to think critically in all areas and the strategies require practice and application. Some of these are found in life skills in addition to advanced curriculum.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      One of the ways I am working on critical thinking skills in my Grade 5 class is by doing STEM projects. I am noticing that it is not only my struggling learners that require this skill, but also my strong learners as well, at times, even more so than the struggling learners.

      Reply
  10. Mary Chiappetta

    Chapters 3 & 4 have much information to reflect on. I will focus specifically on “accessing prior knowledge” and “differentiation”. Ricci says it wonderfully on pg. 51 “It is about respecting and responding to what a child needs when she walks in the door and as she makes her way through the learning.”
    – So what exactly does that mean when you’re planning your learning lessons? Susan Close the founder of SmartLearning http://www.smartlearning.ca/ is masterful at respecting & responding to what a child needs, if you haven’t checked out her site or taken one of her sessions – you should.
    The SmartLearning approach http://www.smartlearning.ca/pdfs/Guide_SmarterLearning_hires.pdf begins with “Building Committee and Purpose” -tapping into what learners already know sets the stage for new learning.
    Carla you mentioned having Shelley Moore to your district – she has also been to my district SD61 and will be coming again in March & June – and she was brilliant with us as well.

    I was explaining to Shelley that we have a large number of Teachers in our district who are excellent in planning for differentiation. We co-plan lessons and then review the plan checking to make sure there is something for All of our students (ie. how can we support Carey’s needs in this lesson?).
    Shelley said to me “Mary – what if you changed your trajectory. Instead of ‘fitting’ those students into the lesson after the fact – what if you started with your most challenging student and built the lesson for that student.”
    That shift in thinking – was my Aha moment.
    Shelley Moore will be at Crosscurrents -she is another “must see & check-out BC educator” https://blogsomemoore.com/

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      Thank you so much for the websites Mary! I look forward to looking at them! I also love what Shelley Moore said to you. A great lesson for all of us to remember!

      Reply
  11. Arden

    I feel that a teacher’s mindset about a student’s ability to learn directly affects the relationship they have initially and with the amount of time the teacher is willing to put into differentiating the instruction for the class. I worked directly with a teacher who said “I’m differentiating in my class and everyone is included” but when I looked around they were all doing the same work but were allowed to stand, sit or lie down. I was saddened to see that the two children with developmental delays names were not posted into the reading groups listed on the board nor were they expected to join anyone during small group reading times.
    The school district I work in has hired expert teachers as coaches that go between a couple of schools and work with teachers to help them plan, and deliver differentiated lessons and I find they are beginning to plan using the Shelley Moore model.
    I love the chapter on Critical Thinking and believe that it is crucial that we teach all children to be critical thinkers. Our low level learners may take longer, and need more rehearsal (and not through homework) to develop simple critical thinking skills, but as the one child said in the book “The more you try, the more you get smarter”.(p. 63)

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      Isn’t that a powerful statement? “The more you try, the more you get smarter.” Children have such a way with words! So succinct and accurate!

      Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*