October 1

Part 2- Self-Awareness Chapter 3

Educators are givers. Isn’t this the truth! Giving, giving, then giving some more. No is not often a word in our vocabularies- at least not in mine. We give of ourselves and our time until there is not much left to give- then what happens? Personal health issues, mental health issues, breakdowns? For me, it is always burnout that ends up with me losing control of myself to the point where I cannot deal with anything-even the smallest thing and I turn into an ogre :(.  Not what one needs when dealing with anyone, let alone a child dealing with trauma!

Self Care is apparently not a luxury, but a necessity. It allows us to remain in a head space that will allow us to support our students in an appropriate way. The author alludes to having cement shoes- shoes that encompass our personal mission statements. In answering the questions on page 50 I have come up with my own personal mission statement- my cement shoes.  “Every student will be welcome into my classroom, where I will make it my mission to help them with any problem they may come across- personal, educational, emotional, spiritual- giving them the strategies they need to succeed and progress.”

In order to support my students in this way, I need to first take care of myself. How do I do this? Well I have to admit that I am not great at this but I am working on it. My biggest form of self-care is exercise, usually karate. It is crazy how much exercise lifts away the stresses of the day! Kind of melts it like it does the fat you burn when you’ve had a big workout. I definitely need to work on this one though. I am not great in the area of self-care and could stand to improve. My goal is to work out at least 5 times a week. I know that this is possible as I have done it in the past, I just need to get into the routine again.

 

What is your personal mission statement?

Do you have any special self-care routines that you use?

 

Remember to always take care of yourself!

Until next time!


Posted October 1, 2017 by tiebcmembers in category Fostering Resilient Learners

6 thoughts on “Part 2- Self-Awareness Chapter 3

  1. Rhonda

    I went through the BCTF Balance for Living program last year and found it very useful. Self-care for me is going back to the basics. Am I sleeping? drinking water? exercising? eating healthy? connecting? and having fun? Two years ago I was off due to a back problem and the issue made me simplify my life. At first, I could only do laps with a walker around the inside of my house and then lay down. On physio days, that is all I could handle. I had to let go of lots of things – such as my class for that term – and just focus on my health. Now that I have my mobility back and I want to get my hand & mind into everything, I remind myself of the basic necessities that I need – sleep, water, exercise, healthy food, connection and fun.

    Reply
    1. tiebcmembers (Post author)

      This is great advice Rhonda! I would love to take this training. One thing I definitely need to remember is to drink water…and to have fun!

      Reply
  2. Marguerite DiFilippo

    I have the benefit of being older and having grown children that have fulfilling careers. So, for the last 5 or 6 years I’ve been on a “it’s all about me” kick. I realize I’m at a place in my life when I can do this, and you need to go through the other stages to get here. But, wow is it exhilarating. It took a while to get out of the mindset of thinking about me last, or thinking I should do something because I should be able to do it, not because I want to do it. For example, my son does my taxes for me, and every year he says that I should be doing it because it isn’t hard. Previously I’d say yes you’re right, I’ll do it next year. A couple of years ago at tax time, when he again reminded me I should be doing it myself because I was capable, I replied that I don’t want to do it. His answer was, fair enough, I’m fine with doing it for you, it takes hardly anytime for me. Wow, that was easy!

    That doesn’t mean I don’t push myself or think of others, but always with my stress level in mind. In reality, there are a lot of things in life that are a bit stressful and have to get done. But now I always think, how can I make it easier on myself. Previously. I’d just say “tough it through Marguerite, and quick whining.” I still say that, but I add a caveat, of what can I do to lower that stress level. It’s all about mindset…isn’t that what the other book club is discussing…lol…

    Age does have its benefits, along with its wrinkles…

    Reply
  3. Gail

    I realize I am behind with responding but I just enjoyed the first three chapters. I am still working on not feeling guilty about putting my needs closer to the middle of my to do list and not always at the bottom. I know I feel much better if I leave work early enough to go to the gym before heading home but still can’t convince myself to do that often enough.

    At first I thought cement shoes sounded like a negative term but as I thought more about anchoring myself in strong beliefs, I realized it could be very positive. I am trying to take a few minutes each day to remind myself of what is important both at work and home. It is helping me to feel less overwhelmed.

    Reply
  4. Maureen

    During my Master’s degree my project focused on the functionality and pupose of the Learning Cente. This space was formerly a resource room. I wanted to create a space that was inviting and safe. A colleague who also works in the Learning Centre has been away for 3 weeks so there has been a TTOC in for her. Yesterday was her last day and she said that she felt the caring, non-judgemental safe environment that I have created within the walls of the Learning Centre. I was surprised but thankful that she had noticed and that my strategies were working.

    For me, self care is at Soul Studio in Vernon. This space is not only for fitness classes but it is a community of women (a few men too) who support each other no matter what. This special place reminds me that I not only need to have exercise but alos strong relationships to feed my soul. Some days it is difficult to get there as I have 2 little dogs at home that need me to be there to, but during my recent separation I must get there to take care of my whole being.

    Reply
  5. Rhonda

    I’ve been looking at the classes for Soul Studio. Sounds like I need to stop looking and start attending. Congrats on getting positive feedback for the changes with the Learning Ctr.

    Reply

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*